Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator Licenses are not transferable from operator to operator. However, operators are allowed to change ownership of pens. New owners must apply apply for a new license. Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator Licenses are not transferable from enclosure to enclosure. If an operator owns more than one enclosure, they need a separate license for each of their enclosures.
Applicants must be prepared to show proof of ownership or legal leasing of the land which the preserve is established on. For commercial purposes of fox and coyote hunting, the preserve must be greater than or equal to 500 acres, with the exception of smaller areas containing terrain and topographical features that offer escape cover. The preserve must also be operated following the Rules of 15A NCAC 10H .1202-.1207.
An examination and inspection of the preserve by Wildlife Resources Commission may be conducted at any time.
An accurate record, including all purchase records and billing information for all foxes and coyotes, must be maintained and available for inspection by an authorized Commission personnel upon request. It is illegal to import into North Carolina any foxes or coyotes to stock a Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve.
Each individual who obtains a Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator License must submit an annual report form post-marked within 15 days following the expiration of the permit as instructed in 15A NCAC 10B .0101 (b). (Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Report Form).
As required by law, every hunter hunting on the controlled hunting preserve must have in their possession a proper resident or nonresident hunting license, or a Controlled Hunting Preserve hunting license for the current year.
Licenses are issued to a single individual at least 18 years of age or older.
Unless otherwise indicated on the license form, Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator Licenses are valid from July 1st through June 31st of the following year.
Download the current Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator License Rules from North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings: