on Aug 25, 2011 12:00 AM • Views 7028
Media Contact: Jodie Owen, Public Information Officer

RALEIGH, N.C. (Aug. 25, 2011) – The N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission welcomed five new members to its governing board and elected a new vice-chairman.

Taking their oaths during the agency’s business meeting today were Hayden Rogers of Brasstown, James Cogdell of Norwood, Thomas Berry of Greensboro, Mark Craig of Gibsonville, and John Coley of Holly Springs. Each was sworn in by N.C. Secretary of State Elaine Marshall.

Doc Thurston, of Charlotte, was unable to attend the meeting. He will be sworn in at a later date.

By unanimous vote, Commissioners elected Ray White as vice-chairman. White, of Manteo, will serve a 2-year term as vice-chairman. He is the Commissioner for District 1, which includes 13 counties in northeastern North Carolina. White replaces Martin Lewis, former District 9 Commissioner, as vice-chairman. 

Rogers and Cogdell were appointed to 6-year terms by Gov. Perdue. Rogers will represent Commission District 9, which includes 12 counties in western North Carolina. Cogdell is the new Commissioner for District 6, which includes 10 counties located in the Piedmont.

Berry, Craig and Thurston will serve as at-large Commissioners, appointed to 2-year terms by President Pro Tempore of the N.C. Senate Phil Berger. John Coley, another at-large Commissioner, was appointed to a 2-year term by Speaker of the House Thom Tillis.
The 19-member Commission establishes policies and regulations governing hunting, fishing and boating, and wildlife conservation activities in North Carolina. Appointments to the Commission are made by the Governor, the Speaker of the State House and the President Pro Tempore of the N.C. Senate, with commissioners serving until reappointed or replaced.