ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

As with any large, multi-year project, the preparation of our Plan involved the input and participation of a wide variety of individuals, including staff within multiple divisions of the Commission, as well as from other state and federal agencies, conservation organizations, private industry, and academia. We extend our warmest thanks to everyone who has contributed their knowledge, time, and energy in the development of the Plan; your dedication has improved the final product immeasurably.

This first iteration of our Comprehensive Wildlife Conservation Plan is only the most visible result of our multi-year planning efforts. Of even greater value are the inter-agency and organizational networks and communication bridges that were formed and strengthened through this effort. The ultimate test of our Plan will be measured through the success of its implementation and the strengthening of collaborative efforts and partnerships.

The following people were directly involved in the development of the Wildlife Action Plan¹:

Steering Committee:

Bob Curry, NCWRC Brad Gunn, NCWRC David Cobb, NCWRC Fred Harris, NCWRC Scott Van Horn, NCWRC Shannon Deaton, NCWRC Tom Henson, NCWRC Wib Owen, NCWRC Ken Bridle, NWAC representative

Wildlife Action Plan Coordinator

Salinda Daley, NCWRC

Internal Technical Committee:

Angie Rodgers, NCWRC Chris McGrath, NCWRC David Allen, NCWRC Jeff Marcus, NCWRC Jeff Simmons, NCWRC Mark Johns, NCWRC Nolan Banish, NCWRC Rob Nichols, NCWRC Ryan Heise, NCWRC Sarah Cross, NCWRC Scott Anderson, NCWRC Steve Fraley, NCWRC

¹See the Key to Acronyms and Abbreviations for a complete list of all acronyms and abbreviations used herein.

Additional input, feedback, and assistance in developing the Plan was provided by: Kate Pipkin, NCWRC Alexa McKerrow, NCGAP Alvin Braswell, NCMNS Amy Bleckinger, NCWRC Andy Wood, NC Audubon Ann Berry Somers, UNC-Greensboro Anna Huckabee Smith, NCWRC Anne Deaton, NCDMF Art Bogan, NCMNS Barbie Byrd, NOAA - Fisheries Barry New, NCDFR Becca Madsen, Duke University **Bob Barwick**, NCWRC Bob Slocum, NC Forestry Association Brady Beck, NCWRC Brent Martin, Land Trust for the Little Tennessee Brian McRae, NCWRC Bryan Hulka, Weyerhaeuser Company Bryn Tracy, NCDWQ Chad Thomas, NCWRC Chris Elkins, Coastal Conservation Association Chris Goudreau, NCWRC David Lee, (formerly) NCMNS David Lenat, private consultant David Vogel, NCSWCD David Webster, UNC-Wilmington David Yow, NCWRC Dennis Desmond, Land Trust for the Little Tennessee DJ Gerken, SELC Don Hayes, NCWRC Doreen Miller, USFS Doug Besler, NCWRC Doug Howell, NCWRC Sam Pearsall, TNC Douglas Ruley, SELC Evin Stanford, NCWRC Fred Annand, TNC Fritz Rohde, NCDMF Gene Vaughn, Duke Power Ginger Williams, NCWRC Ginny Harrison, NCWRC Glen Catts. Hoffman Forest. NCSU Gordon Warburton, NCWRC Harlan Hall, NCWRC Harry LeGrand, NCNHP Ted Simons, NCSU Jeff Bean, NCMNS Jenna Begier, NCWRC Jim Borawa, NCWRC Tom Henry, SELC Jodie Owen, NCWRC Joe Fuller, NCWRC John Alderman, private consultant John Connors, NCMNS John Cooper, NCMNS John Gerwin, NCMNS John Sealy, (formerly) Appalachian State University Association John Townson, Camp Lejeune Marine Corps Base JohnAnn Shearer, USFWS Judy Ratcliffe, NCNHP

Ken Bridle, Piedmont Land Conservancy Kevin Dockendorf, NCWRC Kevin O'Kane, Weyerhaeuser Company Klugh Jordan, SELC Lauren Battle, Duke University Linda Pearsall. NCNHP Logan Williams, NCDOT Lori Williams, NCWRC Mallory Martin, NCWRC Marek Smith, Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation Department Margaret Martin, NCWRC Margit Bucher, TNC Mark Danaher, International Paper Mark Dubowski, NCWRC Mark Fowlkes, NCWRC Mark Jones, NCWRC Mark Megalos, NCDFR Mary Kay Clark, (formerly) NCMNS Matina Kalcounis-Ruppell, UNC-Greensboro Matthew Godfrey, NCWRC Michael Baranski, Catawba College Mike Seamster, NCWRC Nick Haddad, NCSU Perry Sumner, NCWRC Pete Benjamin, USFWS Pete Bromley, private consultant Pete Kornegay, NCWRC Peter Weigl, Wake Forest University Russell Wong, NCWRC Ryan Meyers, NCWRC Sandy Florence, USFS Sarah McRae, NCNHP Scott Chappell, NCDMF Scott Osborne, NCWRC Scott Pohlman, NCNHP Sheryl Bryan, USFS Steve Hall. NCNHP Steve Williams, NCGAP Sue Cameron, NCWRC Terry Sharpe, NCWRC Tisha Gennings, Duke University Tommy Hughes, NCWRC Trish MacPherson, NCDWQ Vickie Cumbee, NCWRC Walker Golder, NC Audubon Wayne Starnes, NCMNS William McLarney, Little Tennessee Watershed Wilson Laney, USFWS Win Taylor, NCWRC Zora Rhodes, NCWRC

We would also like to extend a thanks to participants of our 2004 Stakeholder Meeting (see Appendix C for a listing of participants), to all members of the Commission's Nongame Wildlife Advisory Committee, and to the International Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies and the US Fish & Wildlife Service for their guidance and support through the Plan development process.