A Falconry License allows an individual who wishes to take raptors in this state or to practice falconry. However, before receiving your license, you must pass a falconry examination with at least an 80%. More details are under the License Restrictions/Conditions section below.
The North American Falconers Association will be hosting an Introduction to Falconry Workshop on Saturday, Aug. 26, 2023, from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Historic Rural Hill Farm located at 4431 Neck Rd, Huntersville, NC 28078.
The workshop is open to anyone 12 and older; however, children 12-17 years old must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian. The registration fee is $50 and includes lunch. Register at www.n-a-f-a.com/event/2023ITFW.
Note: This page is for the Falconry License and its requirements. If you are interested in learning more about the art of practicing falconry, you can also visit N.C. Falconers Guild.
A supervised examination administered by the NC Wildlife Resources Commission (NCWRC) will contain questions relevant to the basic biology, care, and handling of raptors, literature, laws, and regulations. The examination is not required if the applicant holds a current valid permit or license from another state, tribe, or territory meeting the federal standards and has been certified by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Prior to a resident of North Carolina receiving a Falconry License, the applicant’s raptor housing facilities and falconry equipment must meet the minimum standards of 15A NCAC 10H .0808. (Falconry Sponsor Inspection Report for Apprentice's Facility)
Individuals who have relocated to North Carolina have 60 days to apply for a North Carolina Falconry License. Until the license is granted, the applicant may keep any lawfully obtained raptors in facilities described in 15A NCAC 10H .0808 and may practice falconry provided the applicant has a permit or license from a state, tribe, or territory that has been certified by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Non-residents may substitute a valid falconry permit or license from their state in replacement of the examination and a letter if required as described in 15A NCAC 10H .0807.
Falconry Licenses are issued at three levels based on age and experience:
A falconer with an expired license may apply for a new license at their previous level provided the falconer can show proof he has previously met the requirements for that falconry level. A falconer who has not had an active license within the past five years may apply for a new license but must pass a facilities inspection in addition to showing proof she/he has previously met the requirements for that falconry level.
Any applicant less than 18 years of age must have a parent or legal guardian co-sign the application. The parent or legal guardian is legally responsible for the underage falconer’s activities.
Unless otherwise indicated on the license form, Falconry Licenses are valid from July 1 through June 30 of the following year.
Download the current Falconry License Rules from the North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings and Federal Falconry Regulations:
Complete an online application at Go Outdoors North Carolina. Once your online application has been submitted, the appropriate staff will review the application. If your application is approved, you will receive an approval email with a link to purchase the license. You must purchase the approved license within 30 days of approval. This license has a $11 license fee plus a $5.00 transaction fee payable by a Visa or MasterCard. All license fees are non-refundable.
At the time of submission, the sponsor must be available to accept an apprentice.
Falconry Sponsor Inspection Report for Apprentice's Facility (PDF)
Apprentice Upgrade Form (PDF)
USFWS 3-186A Website
3-186A Quick Start Guide