District Wildlife Commissioners Appointed by Governor

  • 19 December 2013
  • Number of views: 12144

RALEIGH, N.C. (Dec. 19, 2013) — Gov. Pat McCrory has appointed three men as district commissioners to the 19-member governing board of the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission.

Brian White, of Manteo, will represent District 1, which includes Hertford, Gates, Currituck, Camden, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Chowan, Bertie, Martin, Washington, Tyrrell, Dare and Hyde counties. He is on the board of the Dare County Boat Builders Foundation, and enjoys fishing and boating.

Joseph R. Budd, of Winston-Salem, will represent District 7, which includes Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, Alleghany, Alexander, Iredell, Yadkin, Davie, Forsyth, Stokes and Surry counties. He belongs to the Winston-Salem Rotary Club. He enjoys quail hunting, fishing and sporting clays.

Albert L. Sneed, of Asheville, will represent District 9, which includes Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Swain, Macon, Jackson, Haywood, Transylvania, Madison, Buncombe, Polk and Henderson counties. He is previous chairman of the Buncombe County Land Conservation Advisory Board. He enjoys fishing, upland game bird hunting and windsurfing.

Wildlife commissioners establish policies and regulations governing hunting, fishing, boating, and wildlife-conservation activities in North Carolina. Appointments to the Commission are made by the Governor, the Speaker of the State House and the President Pro Tempore of the State Senate. Wildlife commissioners serve until reappointed or replaced.

All three men received the oath of office in local ceremonies. White and Budd will serve six-year terms that end June 30, 2019. Sneed’s term of office ends on April 25, 2017, because he is filling an unexpired term of the previous District 9 commissioner, who resigned last year.

The next wildlife commissioners’meeting is scheduled for Jan. 30 at agency headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, on the Centennial Campus of N.C. State University. Information on wildlife commissioners and how to contact them is available at http://www.ncwildlife.org/About/Commissioners.aspx

Media Contact:
Geoff Cantrell

News Archives