

ACTIONS N.C. WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

July 13, 2023, 9:00 a.m. N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission Meeting Raleigh, North Carolina

Approval of April 20, 2023 Meeting Minutes – The Commission approved the April 20, 2023, Wildlife Resources Commission meeting minutes as written in the exhibit. **(EXHIBIT A)**

Approval of June 6, 2023, Meeting Minutes – The Commission approved the June 6, 2023, Wildlife Resources Commission meeting minutes as written in the exhibit. **(EXHIBIT B)**

Motion from the Small Game and Wild Turkey Committee – The Commission approved a motion to approve Richard Broadwell as the Individual recipient and Dillan Epp and Dr. Theron Terhune of Orton Plantation as the group recipient for the Lawrence G. Diedrick Small Game Award for 2023.

Phase II Land Acquisition – The Commission approved the acquisition of Kelly Cove Tract – Macon County (**EXHIBIT D-1**), Griffin Tract – Buncombe County (**EXHIBIT D-2**), Richardson Tract – Ashe County (**EXHIBIT D-3**), Spencer Bay Tracts – Hyde County (**EXHIBIT D-4**), Paynes Branch Tract – Forsyth County (**EXHIBIT D-5**).

Other Property Matters – The Commission approved the request for easement on the North Bend Boating Access Area in Burke County (EXHIBIT E-1), and the NC DOT request for permanent right of easement, drainage easement, utility easement and temporary construction easement for a bridge project in Henderson County (EXHIBIT E-2).

Adoption – 10B .0113 Big Game Harvest Reports – The Commission reviewed public comments **(EXHIBIT F-1)** and adopted proposed changes to Big Game Harvest reporting. **(EXHIBIT F-2)**

Adoption – **10F** .0100 Motorboat Registration – The Commission reviewed public comments (EXHIBIT G-1) and adopted proposed changes to 10F .0102, .0104, and .0109 update vessel data collection and certificate of number requirements to comply with USCG regulations. (EXHIBIT G-2)

Notice of Text – CWD Rules – The Commission approved publishing Notice of Text with an open comment period and a public hearing for proposed rules 10B .0501 and .0503. (EXHIBIT H-1) and approved fiscal notes for proposed rules. (EXHIBIT H-2)

Adoption – 15A NCAC 10F .0310 Dare County – The Commission reviewed public comments (EXHIBIT I-1) and adopted proposed amendments to establish a no-wake zone in the waters of Motts

Creek 3 at the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center and Marina and Oregon Inlet U.S. Coast Guard Station at Cape Hatteras National Seashore; and to add names and addresses of the boating access areas in Dare County. (EXHIBIT I-2)

Adoption – 15A NCAC 10F .0374 Cube Hydro Carolinas – The Commission reviewed public comments (EXHIBIT J-1) and adopted proposed amendments to change the name of Cube Yadkin Generation to Cube Hydro Carolinas; to establish safety zones and restricted areas on the Yadkin River in Rowan, Davidson, Stanly and Montgomery counties at High Rock Hydroelectric Station, Tuckertown Hydroelectric Station, Narrows Hydroelectric Station, and Falls Hydroelectric Station; to prohibit swimming at restricted areas; and to prohibit discharge of a firearm in restricted areas. (EXHIBIT J-2)

Temporary Rulemaking Adoption – 15A NCAC 10F .0305 Brunswick County – The Commission reviewed public comments (EXHIBIT K-1) and adopted proposed temporary amendments to establish a no-wake zone in South Jinks Creek at the Town of Sunset Beach, beginning at a line north of the feeder channel and including waters south and west for the duration of a dredging project in the navigation channels. (EXHIBIT K-2)

Notice of Text – 15A NCAC 10F .0333 Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties – The Commission approved publishing Notice of Text in the *NC Register* with an open comment period and a public hearing to establish a restricted area with swim beach at the South Point Access Area on Lake Wylie, located at 199 Boat Launch Road in Belmont in Gaston County, north of a rope in a cove east of the access area; and to codify in the North Carolina Administrative Code the address of the no-wake zone within 50 yards of the South Point Access Area boat ramps. (EXHIBIT L)

Conservation Plans – The Commission approved staff recommendations for final adoption of Bog Turtle (EXHIBIT M-1) and Southern Hognose Snake (EXHIBIT M-2) Species Conservation Plans.

Town of Black Mountain – Mountain Heritage Trout City Request – The Commission approved designating the Town of Black Mountain as a Mountain Heritage Trout City and recognize the Public Mountain Trout Waters within Black Mountain as Mountain Heritage Trout Waters. **(EXHIBIT N)**

Election of Officers – The Commission elected Commissioner Monty Crump as Chairman and Commissioner Mark Craig as Vice Chairman for a term of two years or until their successors are elected and qualified pursuant to NCGS §143-243.

Adjournment – Chairman Monty Crump adjourned the meeting at 10:12 a.m.