

ACTIONS N.C. WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

July 27, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. NC Wildlife Resources Commission Headquarters 1751 Varsity Drive Raleigh, North Carolina

Commissioner Recusal – Commissioner Landon Zimmer recused himself from discussion and vote on **Exhibit H,** NCDOT Easements at the John E. Pechmann Education Center.

Presentation of Award – Governor Roy Cooper presented the Order of the Long Leaf Pine Award to Commissioner Wes Seegars.

Commissioner Oaths of Office – Secretary of State Elaine Marshall administered the Oath of Office to Commissioners Wes Seegars, Monty R. Crump, Hayden Rogers, Bradford Stanback, and David Hoyle, Jr., appointed by Governor Roy Cooper.

Approval of April 20, 2017 Minutes - the Commission approved the April 20, 2017 Wildlife Resources Commission minutes. (**Exhibit B**)

Approval of April 24, 2017 Telephonic Meeting Minutes – the Commission approved the April 24, 2017 telephonic meeting minutes. (**Exhibit C**)

Approval of June 5, 2017 Telephonic Meeting – the Commission approved the June 5, 2017 telephonic meeting minutes. (**Exhibit C-1**)

Presentation of the Thomas L. Quay Award – the Commission presented the 2017 Thomas L. Quay Award to Alvin Braswell.

Special Recognition – the Commission recognized 30-year WRC employee Michael H. Seamster for his work to successfully restore the wild turkey population in North Carolina. The Commission presented Seamster a copy of the publication he wrote for the WRC entitled *A History of Wild Turkey Management in North Carolina*.

Approval of Nongame Wildlife Advisory Committee Members – the Commission appointed seven members to the Nongame Wildlife Advisory Committee: Government affiliates Judith Ratcliffe, DNCR, and Dr. Wilson Laney, USFWS; Expert Affiliates Ann Somers, UNC – Greensboro, and Dr. David Webster, UNC – Wilmington; and At-Large Affiliates Toni O'Neil, Possumwood Acres Wildlife Sanctuary, Dr. Joe Poston, Catawba College, and Dr. Liz Rutledge, NC Wildlife Federation. (**Exhibit E**)

Rulemaking for State Listed Species Regulations – the Commission received a summary of public comments on proposed changes to state listed species regulations and adopted proposed changes in the 2017 - 2018 nongame regulations. (**Exhibits F-1, F-2**)

Phase II Land Acquisitions – the Commission gave final approval to proceed with the acquisition of three properties - NWTF Tracts in McDowell and Rutherford counties; Wood Tract in Jackson County; and Stainback Tract in Onslow County. (**Exhibits G-1, G-2, G-3**)

NCDOT Easement Request – with Commissioner Landon Zimmer recused from discussion or action, the Commission approved permanent and temporary construction easement requests from NCDOT on land at the John E. Pechmann Education Center. (**Exhibit H**)

Property Disposal – the Commission approved proceeding with the demolition of the office building at the Sandhills Depot. (**Exhibit I**)

Multi-use Facility, Northampton County – the Commission gave final approval for the design and construction of a boating access area and shooting range facility in Northampton County. **(Exhibit J)**

Resolution in Support of Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact - the Commission adopted a Resolution in support of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact. (**Exhibit K**)

Notice of Text – Wild Turkey Rule Amendments – the Commission approved publishing Notice of Text in the NC Register for proposed amendments to 15A NCAC 10B .0209 – Wild Turkey, hold one public hearing, and open the public comment period. (**Exhibit L**)

2016 Periodic Review – Falconry Amendments – the Commission approved publishing Notice of Text in the NC Register, hold one public hearing, and open the public comment period for proposed changes to 15A NCAC 10H .0800 Falconry Rules. (**Exhibit M**)

2016 Periodic Review – **Taxidermy Amendments** – the Commission approved publishing Notice of Text in the NC Register, hold one public hearing, and open the public comment period for proposed changes to 15A NCAC 10H .1000 – Taxidermy. (**Exhibit N**)

Final Adoption of No-Wake Zone Requests – the Commission adopted amendments for no-wake zones on Little Creek in Beaufort County under 15A NCAC 10F .0303; Lake James in Burke County under 15A NCAC 10F .0323; and Lake James in McDowell County under 15A NCAC 10F .0339. (**Exhibit O, P, Q**)

Addition of August Wildlife Resources Commission Meeting – the Commission approved adding committee meetings on August 22, 2017 and a WRC meeting on August 23, 2017. The WRC meeting will be held at the Nature Research Center of the N.C. Museum of Natural Sciences.

Election of Officers – the Commission elected David Hoyle, Jr. as Vice Chairman and John Coley as Chairman.

Adjournment – Chairman John Coley adjourned the meeting at 11:55 am.