Wildlife Resources Commission Installs Commissioners

  • 29 August 2013
  • Number of views: 12443
Wildlife Resources Commission Installs Commissioners
Jim Cogdell presided over his first Wildlife Commission meeting today as chairman. Photo by Melissa McGaw.

RALEIGH, N.C. (Aug. 29, 2013) — The N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission installed 11 commissioners today at its August meeting.

The 19-member board establishes policy and regulations governing statewide conservation efforts, as well as hunting, fishing and boating activities in North Carolina. Members serve until reappointed or replaced. Appointments are made by the Governor, the Speaker of the state House and the President Pro-Tem of the state Senate.

Gov. Pat McCrory made appointments for a district commissioner and at-large commissioners. Among those appointments was John Litton Clark, of Clinton, as commissioner for District 4, made up of Scotland, Hoke, Harnett, Roberson, Cumberland, Sampson, Bladen, Columbus and Brunswick counties.

McCrory also named John T. Coley, IV, of Holly Springs, and V. Ray Clifton, of Clarkton, to Governor at-large appointments.

Speaker Tom Tillis named Richard Edwards, of Wilmington, Tim Spear, of Creswell, Thomas Fonville, of Raleigh, and Michell Hicks, of Cherokee, to state House at-large appointments.

Senate President Pro Tem Phil Berger named Tom Berry and Mark Craig, both of Greensboro, Dell Murphy, of Wallace, and Garry Spence, of Charlotte, to state Senate at-large appointments.

For Commission meeting schedules, public hearings and more information about the board, click here.

Media Contact:
Betsy Haywood

News Archives