A Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operators License authorizes the Operator and his/her guests to hunt foxes and coyotes at any time within the licensed preserves fenced acreage.
Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator Licenses are not transferable from operator to operator. However, operators are allowed to change ownership of pens. New owners must apply for a new license. Additionally, these licenses are not transferable from enclosure to enclosure. If an operator owns more than one enclosure, he or she needs a separate license for each enclosure.
Applicants must be prepared to show proof of ownership or legal leasing of the land one which the preserve is established.
Controlled fox hunting preserves less than 106 acres shall have a minimum of three escape dens. Those preserves equal to or greater than 106 acres shall have one additional escape den per 1-35 acre interval thereafter. The preserve also must be operated following the Rules of 15A NCAC 10H .1202-.1207.
An examination and inspection of the preserve by the NC Wildlife Resources Commission (NCWRC) may be conducted at any time.
An accurate record, including all purchase records and billing information for all foxes and coyotes, must be maintained and available for inspection by an authorized NCWRC personnel upon request. It is illegal to import into North Carolina any foxes or coyotes to stock a Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve.
Each individual who obtains a Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator License must submit an annual report form post-marked within 15 days following the expiration of the permit as instructed in 15A NCAC 10B .0101 (b). (Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Report Form).
As required by law, every hunter hunting on the controlled hunting preserve must have in his/her possession a proper resident or nonresident hunting license, or a Controlled Hunting Preserve hunting license for the current year.
Licenses are issued to a single individual at least 18 years of age or older.
Unless otherwise indicated on the license form, Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator Licenses are valid from July 1 through June 30 of the following year.
Download the current Controlled Fox Hunting Preserve Operator License Rules from North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings:
Complete an online application at Go Outdoors North Carolina. Once your online application has been submitted, the appropriate staff will review the application. If your application is approved, you will receive an approval email with a link to purchase the license. You must purchase the approved license within 30 days of approval. This license has a $100.00 license fee plus a $5.00 transaction fee payable by a Visa or MasterCard. All license fees are non-refundable.